Press "Enter" to skip to content

Friday Night Pop-ups, Saturday Night Planning – Buckle Downs, Kaleta and Super Yamba Band; Royce

Friday Night

Grushecky was the headliner at Allegheny Overlook, but I went early to see Kiki Brown and The Buckle Downs. My last time hearing Kiki may have been at the Starship Mantis farewell gig at Mr. Smalls two years ago. Actually, everything was two years ago, right?

There was new material, plus old favorites like ‘Soldier.’ It felt like people didn’t know the opening act, but they were totally impressed by the third song. Kiki looks like she’s shaken off all cobwebs after having her baby eight months ago. Excellent outing. The Buckle Downs sent me some unreleased tracks to play on The Soul Show next weekend, so listen out.


Next, it was off to Music on the Mon, next to the Hyatt at Southside Works. The Flow Band had already played, but Kaleta and Super Yamba Band were plenty enough. Afrobeat with some Eastern vibe. The groove was psychedelic and thick. Cimafunk is up next, with our own Hugo Cruz. Recommended.

Music on the Mon’s schedule
Fri., July 2: Ferdinand The Bull and Bill Deasey
Fri., July 9: Sound Girls presents Ladybeast, Century iii, and more tba
Sat., July 17: Honky Tonk Jukebox with Jon Bindley and friends
Fri., July 23: Joe Keyes and the Late Bloomers and TBD
Fri., July 30: Misra Records Showcase (artists tbd)
Fri., Aug. 6: Hot Mass
Fri., Aug. 13: Anbessa Orchestra and Big Blitz
Sat., Aug. 14: Squonk Opera
Fri., Aug. 20: Mourning [A] BLKstar, Brittney Chantele and Dj Arie Cole
Fri., Aug. 27: Kaleta and Super Yamba Band with special guest The Flow Band
Sat., Sept. 4: Cimafunk with special guests Hugo Cruz and Caminos

Royce and others on my outdoor radar for Saturday, 8/28

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *